Ornamental Pear Tree

Callery PearCallery Pear FlowerCallery Pear Tree

I’m well aware of what a hardy winter means, after all, I did go to college in Maine.  But, I feel almost reasonable when I say that I was grumpy for those 3 recent weeks of “cold” because one of my favorite Southern Californian amenities is its warmth.

Everyone says, “Angelinos forget how to drive when it rains.”  Partly, yes, but we can’t ignore the facts that no one here has all-weather tires, our streets weren’t built to drain adequately, and oily deposits always surface because the rainfall is so infrequent.  Likewise, we’re equally susceptible to the cold because our buildings aren’t properly insulated, we don’t have closets stuffed with long underwear, and most importantly, the cold hurts the heart as though the skies have broken their promise.

All of this is to say, I love spring.  What more could you ask of a tree than for it to bring the promise of spring in the early month of February with its tiny white flowers?  For this reason, I feel quite fond of the Ornamental Pear Tree and I am willing to overlook the fact that it is highly invasive across the United States.

Posted on February 2, 2013, in Trees of Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

